A Few Words About Us

Callicoon Co-operative Insurance Company was organized in 1878 as the Callicoon Agricultural Fire Relief Association of Sullivan County, NY. and incorporated under the laws of NY on June 29, 1910. We underwrite most property lines, with a focus on commercial multiple peril, homeowners, fire and farmowners coverages.

We are managed by Philip E. Conaty, Esq. under the direction of our President, John K. Gempler and Board of Directors: Roger Bisland, David Bodenstein, George Ferguson, William Lane, Carol Lane, Doug Loucks, Jeanne Smith, Edward Sykes and Lee Titus.

Our Standards

Responsive! At Callicoon Co-operative Insurance Company we take great pride in being responsive to the needs of its policyholders and agents.

Our Team

Officers of Company Executive Board Members
Edward T. Sykes President Roger E. Bisland Edward T. Sykes
David W. Bodenstein Vice-President David W. Bodenstein Philip E. Conaty
Roger E. Bisland Assistant Vice-President    
Philip E. Conaty Secretary/Treasurer    
Directors 2018   Office Staff  
Roger E. Bisland Douglas E. Loucks Kathleen L. Armbrust Mary E. Schumacher
David W. Bodenstein Brian P. Rourke Melissa L. Lawrence Jeanne L. Smith
Philip E. Conaty Jeanne L. Smith Bonnie L. Schlott  
George W. Ferguson Edward T. Sykes    
Carol K. Lane Lee C. Titus    

Our Awards

Callicoon Co-operative Insurance Company of Jeffersonville, New York, has been awarded a 2013 Stakeholder Team Accomplishment RecognitionTM (STAR)Award  from Demotech, Inc. for its operating results in 2012, as also verified in its June 30, 2013 statutory quarterly statement.

A total of 2,736 Property and Casualty carriers were reviewed, with only 44, or 1.6 percent, meeting each of Demotech’s objective criteria. Callicoon was one of only 10 carriers in the State Specialist company classification to earn a 2013 STAR award, and was the only State Specialist award winner from the State of New York.

Read More